Will Gregory Moog Ensemble releases Debut Album, Heat Ray

Will Gregory Moog Ensemble has announced details of their debut album release, Heat Ray, on Warp records.

The album, recorded by the Ensemble on analog synthesizers, alongside the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, is set for release on vinyl, CD and download on 14 June 2024.

The first single, Bouyancy Theory:

What they say about Heat Ray:

“This neo-classical electronic album is filled with spirals of melody, circular structures, sequences, and patterns inspired by the works of the Greek mathematician Archimedes.

The ensemble is led by Goldfrapp’s Will Gregory and has been active on the live circuit since 2005. The members include Portishead’s Adrian Utley, a long-time collaborator of Will’s, who plays on the album and produced it. Also playing on the record are John Baggott, Graham Fitkin, Simon Haram, Vyvyan Hope-Scott, Ross Hughes, Hazel Mills, Daniel Moore, Hinako Omori, Eddie Parker, Harriet Riley and Ruth Wall.

Their instruments include Minimoog, Moog Voyager, Korg 700s, Prophet 6, and Roland JX-3P, with their individual lines and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales coming together in intricate arrangements creating a stunning superstructure of sounds.”

Track Listing:

Young Archimedes
Buoyancy Theory
Circles, Spirals and Pi
Law of the Lever
The Claw
Archimedes’ Screw
Heat Ray
The Sand Reckoner
Archimedes’ Legacy

See the Warp website for details.

Leave a comment

Name: (Required)

eMail: (Required)