Monolith New Cinematic Percussion Sound Library

Orchestral Tools has introduced Monolith, a new sound library that features the sounds of 53 big drums, carefully tuned and voiced, playable as ensembles and as single instruments.

What they say about it:

“Explore 53 drums from composer Richard Harvey’s instrument collection. All but one of the drums have animal skin heads, and some are over 100 years old—these antiques not only sound amazing, they also emanate a majestic aura of musical history.

The drums were curated to provide a carefully sculpted sound with maximum range—from the enormous bass of the Lanna drum to the perfectly tuned dun duns and the high accents of the West African log drums. The drums were then placed in the hall to capture the optimal soundfield, tuned to each other, and voiced to sync decay times.”


  • 53 rare and unique drums, 68 patches
  • Ensembles and selected single instruments
  • All drums carefully tuned and voiced
  • Hits, flams, and upbeats
  • Multiple beater options
  • Dynamic keyboard mapping
  • Alternative mapping options and processed patches
  • 20 dynamic layers
  • 10 mic positions
  • Recorded at Lyndhurst Hall, AIR Studios

Official Walkthrough Video:

Monolith is available now with an introductory price of €199 + VAT through April 17 (normally €299).


Leave a comment

Name: (Required)

eMail: (Required)